EAST DEVON DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of a Meeting of the Development Management Committee held at Knowle, Sidmouth on 4 September 2018

Attendance list at end of document

The meeting started at 10am and ended at 2.41pm (the committee adjourned at 11.56am and reconvened at 1.30pm).

*13 Minutes

The minutes of the Development Management Committee meeting held on 7 August 2018 were confirmed and signed as a true record.

*14 Declarations of interest

Committee Members

Cllr Geoff Jung; 17/3022/MOUT and 18/1081/FUL; Personal interest; Woodbury Parish Councillor

Cllr Geoff Jung; 17/3022/MOUT; Personal interest; Member of the Blackhill Quarry Liaison Group

Cllr Bruce de Saram; 17/2493/FUL; Personal interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Brian Bailey; 17/2493/FUL; Personal interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Paul Carter; 17/3022/MOUT; Personal interest; Member of the Blackhill Quarry Liaison Group

Cllr David Key; 18/1444/FUL; Personal interest; acquaintance of the applicant

Non-committee Members

Cllr Paul Diviani; 18/1360/COU; Personal interest; Chairman of the Blackdown Hills AONB and Chairman of Making it Local.

In accordance with the code of good practice for Councillors and Officers dealing with planning matters as set out in the Constitution:

- Cllr Mike Howe, Cllr Susie Bond, Cllr Paul Carter and Cllr Geoff Jung advised that they had been lobbied in respect of application 17/3022/MOUT.
- Cllr Mike Howe, Cllr Colin Brown, Cllr Susie Bond, Cllr Jim Knight and Cllr Geoff Jung advised that they had been lobbied in respect of application 17/2493/FUL.
- Cllr David Key advised that they had been lobbied in respect of application 18/1451/FUL & 18/1452/LBC.
- Cllr Mike Howe, Cllr Colin Brown, Cllr Susie Bond, Cllr Jim Knight, Cllr Geoff Jung, Cllr Helen Parr, Cllr Brian Bailey, Cllr Paul Carter, and Cllr Bruce de Saram advised that they had been lobbied in respect of application 18/1444/FUL.

*15 Appeal statistics

The Committee received and noted the report written by the Development Manager setting out appeals recently lodged and outlining the one decision notified which had been dismissed.

The Development Manager drew Members' attention to the appeal of application 17/1177/FUL. The Committee were advised that the application consisted of the erection of two dwellings outside of the Built-up Area Boundary of Seaton. The Inspector dismissed the application with countryside protection and amenity reasons being upheld.

The Development Manager also advised the committee that following its decision on the appeal related to application 17/1270/FUL at the last Committee that the Council submit to the judgement of the Planning Inspector, the Planning Inspectorate had determined that the appeal should be determined by way of an Inquiry and that this subsequently led to the applicant withdrawing the appeal.

*16 Applications for Planning Permission and matters for determination RESOLVED:

that the applications before the Committee be determined as set out in Schedule 4 2018/2019.

Attendance list

Present:

Committee Members present for all or part of the meeting

Councillors:

Mike Howe (Chairman)

Colin Brown (Vice Chairman)

Brain Bailey

David Barratt

Susie Bond

Peter Burrows (present for applications considered in the afternoon only.

Apologies given for the morning session)

Paul Carter

Bruce de Saram

Ben Ingham

Geoff Jung

David Kev

Jim Knight

Helen Parr

Officers present for all or part of the meeting

Richard Cohen, Deputy Chief Executive

Henry Gordon Lennox, Strategic Lead – Governance and Licensing

Chris Rose, Development Manager (left the Chamber during consideration of application 18/1673/FUL).

Rob Murray, Economic Development Manager

Alison Hayward, Senior Manager – Regeneration and Economic Development

Andy Carmichael, Major Projects Team Leader

Jacqui Best, Technical Support and Monitoring Officer – Planning Policy

Tabitha Whitcombe, Democratic Services Officer

Also present for all or part of the meeting

Councillors:

Paul Diviani

Douglas Hull

Andrew Moulding

Marianne Rixson

Development Management Committee, 4 September 2018

Cou	n-Committee Members uncillors: n Dent	
Chairman		Date

Apologies:

Councillors: Mike Allen Steve Gazzard Mark Williamson

Committee Members