### EAST DEVON DISTRICT COUNCIL

# Minutes of a Meeting of the Development Management Committee held at Knowle, Sidmouth on 5 June 2018

### Attendance list at end of document

The meeting started at 10.00am and ended at 3.10pm

### \*1 Minutes

The minutes of the Development Management Committee meeting held on 1 May 2018 were confirmed and signed as a true record.

# \*2 Declarations of interest

The Chairman noted, on behalf of all committee members, that East Devon District Council is the landowner of application 18/0376/MFUL.

Cllr Brian Bailey; 18/0376/MFUL; Personal interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Paul Carter; 18/0309/FUL; Personal interest; Ottery St Mary Town Councillor

Cllr Geoff Jung; 18/0376/MFUL; Personal interest; attended meetings of the 'Save Exmouth

Seafront' group

Cllr Geoff Jung; 18/0462/VAR and 18/0319/VAR; Personal interest; member of Lympstone Flood Alleviation Group

Olla Maria Müllianaa ara 10/0070/MELILA D

Cllr Mark Williamson; 18/0376/MFUL; Personal interest; Director of the Queen's Drive Exmouth Community Interest Company

In accordance with the code of good practice for Councillors and Officers dealing with planning matters as set out in the Constitution Cllr Howe (on behalf of the Committee) advised of lobbying in respect of application 18/0376/MFUL and 18/0749/FUL.

Cllr Ben Ingham and Cllr Mike Howe advised that they had been lobbied in respect of applications 18/0462/VAR and 18/0319/VAR. Cllr Bruce de Saram, Cllr Jim Knight and Cllr David Key advised that they had been lobbied in respect of application 18/0394/VAR.

In accordance with the code of good practice for Councillors and Officers dealing with planning matters as set out in the Constitution Cllr Mark Williamson withdrew from the debate and the vote with respect to application 18/0376/MFUL.

## \*3 Appeal statistics

The Committee received and noted the report written by the Development Manager setting out appeals recently lodged and outlining the ten decisions notified of which – five had been dismissed, four had been allowed and one had been invalid.

The Development Manager drew Members' attention to the appeals of applications 17/2321/FUL, 17/1986/FUL and 17/1026/COU, which had been allowed and advised that the Inspectorate is becoming increasingly flexible and that for extensions to dwellings to be refused, the harm caused has to be severe before the Inspectorate will dismiss an appeal. The Development Manager drew Members' attention to the lodged appeal of application 15/2886/LBC, which had been invalid. The applicant submitted a listed building consent with a related planning application, however the Inspector concluded that the building was

not curtilage listed and therefore an application for listed building consent was not required; consequently making the appeal invalid.

In response to a question from Cllr Carter, the Development Manager clarified that the applicant of the invalid application submitted the listed building consent at the time of application, which was agreed by planning officers. However the Inspector felt that the building was not curtilage listed and as such made the appeal invalid. The Development Manager also clarified that the Inspectorate currently has a build-up of applications and that often a number of decisions are released together.

# \*4 Applications for Planning Permission and matters for determination RESOLVED:

that the applications before the Committee be determined as set out in Schedule 1 2018/2019.

#### Attendance list

### Present:

Committee Members present for all or part of the meeting

Councillors

Mike Howe (Chairman)

Colin Brown (Vice Chairman)

Mike Allen

**Brain Bailey** 

**David Barratt** 

Susie Bond

Peter Burrows

**Paul Carter** 

Bruce de Saram

Ben Ingham

Geoff Jung

David Key

Jim Knight

Helen Parr

Mark Williamson

# Officers present for all or part of the meeting

Richard Cohen, Deputy Chief Executive

Henry Gordon Lennox, Strategic Lead – Governance and Licensing

Chris Rose, Development Manager

Alison Hayward, Senior Manager – Regeneration and Economic Development

Linda Perry, Regeneration Officer

Stephen Sartain, West Team Enforcement Officer

Tabitha Whitcombe, Democratic Services Officer

# Also present for all or part of the meeting

Councillors:

Megan Armstrong

Alan Dent

Paul Diviani

Peter Faithfull

Ian Hall

Rob Longhurst

Andrew Moulding

Pauline Stott

Apologies:
Committee Members
Councillors
Steve Gazzard

Chairman Date.	
----------------	--