EAST DEVON DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of a Meeting of the Development Management Committee held at Knowle, Sidmouth on 7 August 2017

Attendance list at end of document

The meeting started at 10.00am and ended at 2.18pm (the Committee adjourned for lunch at 12.21pm and reconvened at 2.00pm)

*9 Minutes

The minutes of the Development Management Committee meeting held on 4 July 2017 (a revised set having been circulated in advance of the meeting) were confirmed and signed as a true record.

*10 Matters of urgency – additional application

With the Chairman's agreement, due to the timeframes in which the application was required to be determined, one additional application – 17/1754/GPD (1 Red Pit, Hawkchurch) would be presented for consideration at the meeting.

*11 Declarations of interest

Committee Members

Cllr David Barratt; 17/0203/RES; Personal interest; Sidmouth Town Councillor and applicant was known to the Councillor.

Cllr Peter Burrows; 17/0369/FUL; Personal interest; Seaton Town Councillor

Cllr Paul Carter; 16/2918/FUL & 17/0783/VAR; Pecuniary interest; Applicant (left the chamber during discussion and vote)

Cllr Paul Carter; 17/1332/FUL; Personal interest; Ottery St Mary Town Councillor

Cllr Bruce de Saram; 17/1128/FUL; Personal interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Brian Bailey; 17/1128/FUL; Personal interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Ben Ingham; 17/1246/LBC; Pecuniary interest; Applicant was a close relative (left the chamber during discussion and vote)

Cllr Ben Ingham; 17/1247/FUL; Pecuniary interest; Applicant (left the chamber during discussion and vote)

Cllr Matt Coppell; 17/1127/LBC & 17/1130/COU; Personal interest; Newton Poppleford and Harpford Parish Councillor

Cllr Steve Gazzard; 17/1128/FUL & 17/1247/FUL; Personal interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Mark Williamson; 17/1128/FUL; Personal interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Non Committee members and officers

Cllr Phil Twiss; 17/0942/MRES; Personal; School Governor

Henry Gordon Lennox; 17/1397/FUL; Applicant (left the chamber during discussion and vote)

In accordance with the code of good practice for Councillors and Officers dealing with planning matters as set out in the Constitution, Cllrs Susie Bond, Steve Gazzard, Bruce de Saram, Paul Carter, Brian Bailey, David Key, Mark Williamson, Colin Brown, Alan Dent and Mike Howe advised they had been lobbied in respect of application 17/0942/MRES.

*12 Planning appeal status report

The Planning appeal status report had been considered by the Strategic Planning Committee at its meeting on 11 July 2017 and was presented to the Development Management Committee for information purposes. The Committee noted the contents of the report.

*13 Appeal statistics

The Committee received and noted the report presented by the Development Manager setting out appeals recently lodged and outlining the four decisions notified – three had been dismissed and one had been withdrawn.

*14 Applications for Planning Permission and matters for determination RESOLVED:

that the applications before the Committee be determined as set out in Schedule 3 – 2017/2018.

Attendance list

Present:

Committee Members

Councillors

Mike Howe (Chairman)

Colin Brown (Vice Chairman)

Brian Bailey

David Barratt

Susie Bond

Peter Burrows

Paul Carter

Matt Coppell

Alan Dent

Bruce de Saram

Steve Gazzard

Ben Ingham

David Key

Helen Parr

Mark Williamson

Officers present for all or part of the meeting

Ed Freeman, Service Lead – Strategic Planning and Development Management Henry Gordon Lennox, Strategic Lead – Governance and Licensing Chris Rose, Development Manager Amanda Coombes, Democratic Services Officer

Amanda Coombes, Democratic Services Officer Hannah Whitfield, Democratic Services Officer

Also present for all or part of the meeting

Councillors

Paul Diviani

Val Ranger

Phil Skinner

Phil Twiss

Apologies: Committee Members Councillor Mike Allen

Non Committee Members
Councillors
Marcus Hartnell
Jim Knight
Andrew Moulding