EAST DEVON DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of a Meeting of the Development Management Committee held at Knowle, Sidmouth on 7 March 2017

Attendance list at end of document

The meeting started at 10.30am and ended at 3.03pm (the Committee adjourned for a lunch at 12pm and reconvened at 2pm).

*39 Minutes

The minutes of the Development Management Committee meeting held on 7 February 2017 were confirmed and signed as a true record.

*40 Declarations of interest

Cllr Alan Dent; 15/1881/MFUL; Personal interest; Budleigh Salterton Town Council Cllr Brian Bailey; 16/2878/VAR & 16/2420/LBC & 16/2486/FUL; Exmouth Town Councillor Cllr Steve Gazzard; 16/2878/VAR & 16/2420/LBC & 16/2486/FUL; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Mark Williamson; 16/2878/VAR & 16/2420/LBC & 16/2486/FUL; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr David Barratt; 16/2573/FUL; Personal Interest; Sidmouth Town Council

Due to the possible perception of bias Cllr Chris Pepper did not speak or vote on application 16/2726/FUL as the applicant was well known to him.

In accordance with the code of good practice for Councillors and Officers dealing with planning matters as set out in the Constitution:

- Cllrs Susie Bond, Helen Parr, Ben Ingham, Matt Coppell, Chris Pepper, Alan Dent, Mark Williamson and David key declared that they had been lobbied on application 16/2438/VAR & 16/2664/VAR.
- Cllr David Barratt declared that he had been approached and spoken to by the applicant of application 16/2573/FUL.

*41 Appeal statistics

The Committee received and noted the report presented by the Development Manager setting out appeals recently lodged and outlining the seven decisions notified – three had been allowed and four had been dismissed.

The Development Manager drew Members' attention to the appeal allowed on land adjacent to 17 Glebelands in Uplyme for the construction of a two-storey dwelling and off street parking. The Inspector had overruled the Committee's reasons for refusal relating to the impact on amenity and the landscape. Members noted that that the Inspector had referred to the partial conflict of the decision with the Local Green Space policy in the emerging Neighbourhod Plan, however considered that the proposed dwelling would maintain the generally spacious appearance of the area.

*42 Applications for Planning Permission and matters for determination RESOLVED:

that the applications before the Committee be determined as set out in Schedule 10 - 2016/2017.

Attendance list Present: Committee Members Councillors: David Key (Chairman) Mike Howe (Vice Chairman)

Brian Bailey David Barratt Susie Bond Colin Brown Paul Carter Matt Coppell Alan Dent Steve Gazzard (AM only) Simon Grundy Ben Ingham Helen Parr Chris Pepper (left at 3pm) Mark Williamson

Officers

Shirley Shaw, Planning Barrister Chris Rose, Development Manager Hannah Whitfield, Democratic Services Officer

Also present for all or part of the meeting Councillors:

Megan Armstrong Iain Chubb Geoff Jung Pauline Stott Tom Wright

Apologies:

<u>Committee Members</u> Councillor Peter Burrows

Non-committee Members Councillor Steve Hall

Chairman

Date.....