EAST DEVON DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of a Meeting of the Development Management Committee held at Knowle, Sidmouth on 10 January 2017

Attendance list at end of document

The meeting started at 10.45am and ended at 12.15pm.

*31 Minutes

The minutes of the Development Management Committee meeting held on 6 December 2016 were confirmed and signed as a true record.

*32 Declarations of interest

Cllr Steve Gazzard; 16/0835/FUL; Personal Interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Brian Bailey; 16/0835/FUL; Personal Interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Mark Williamson; 16/0835/FUL; Personal Interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Peter Burrows; 16/2728/FUL; Personal Interest; Seaton Town Councillor

Cllr David Barratt; 16/2526/FUL & 16/1971/FUL; Personal Interest; Sidmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Paul Carter; 16/1709/FUL; Personal Interest (left the Chamber during consideration of

the application); Related to the applicant

Cllr Paul Carter; 16/2633/FUL; Personal Interest; Ottery St Mary Town Councillor

*33 Appeal statistics

The Committee received and noted the report presented by the Development Manager setting out appeals recently lodged and outlining the four decisions notified – three had been allowed, including one following a Committee Site Inspection, and one had been dismissed.

The Development Manager drew Members' attention to the appeal allowed for the construction of a detached dwelling at West Hayes, West Hill. The Inspector concluded that the Built-up Area Boundary (BUAB) for West Hill carried no weight as it was carried over from the old Local Plan and further stated that the BUAB for West Hill should be determined through the emerging East Devon Villages Plan DPD.

The Development Manager advised the Committee that the consideration of the BUAB for the villages was not going to change immediately because of a single appeal decision as applications would be considered on their merits. However, Members were advised that a publication draft of the Villages DPD would hopefully be presented to the Strategic Planning Committee in February 2017 and that if endorsed by Members, would become a material planning consideration of weight that would be used for the determination of future applications and potentially replace the BUAB's established through the old Local Plan.

*34 Applications for Planning Permission and matters for determination RESOLVED:

that the applications before the Committee be determined as set out in Schedule 8 – 2016/2017.

Attendance list

Present:

Committee Members

Councillors:

David Key (Chairman)

Mike Howe (Vice Chairman)

Brian Bailey

David Barratt

Susie Bond

Colin Brown

Paul Carter

Steve Gazzard

Simon Grundy

Ben Ingham

Helen Parr

Mark Williamson

Officers

Henry Gordon Lennon, Strategic Lead – Governance and Licensing Chris Rose, Development Manager Hannah Whitfield, Democratic Services Officer

Also present for all or part of the meeting

Councillors:

Iain Chubb

Geoff Jung

Marianne Rixson

Apologies:

Committee Members

Councillors

Peter Burrows

Matt Coppell

Alan Dent

Chris Pepper

Chairman	Date
----------	------