EAST DEVON DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of a Meeting of the Development Management Committee held at Knowle, Sidmouth on 6 December 2016

Attendance list at end of document

The meeting started at 10.30am and ended at 4.12pm (the Committee adjourned for lunch at 1.10pm and reconvened at 2pm).

In the absence of the Vice Chairman, Cllr Mike Howe, the Committee agreed to the appointment of Cllr Helen Parr to the position of Vice-Chairman for the morning. Cllr Howe arrived for the afternoon session and took over the position of Vice-Chairman for the remainder of the meeting.

*27 Minutes

The minutes of the Development Management Committee meeting held on 1 November 2016 were confirmed and signed as a true record.

*28 Declarations of interest

Cllr Susie Bond; 16/0872/MFUL; Personal Interest; East Devon District Councillor Cllr David Barratt; 16/0872/MFUL; Personal Interest; Sidmouth Town Councillor Cllr Matt Coppell; 16/2449/HRN; Personal Interest; Newton Poppleford and Harpford Parish Councillor

Cllr Paul Carter; 16/0872/MFUL; Personal Interest; East Devon District Councillor Cllr Paul Carter; 16/1212/FUL; Personal Interest; Family member owned the site (left the Chamber while the item was considered)

Cllr Brian Bailey; 16/0872/MFUL; Personal Interest; East Devon District Councillor Cllr Brian Bailey; 16/0835/FUL; Personal Interest; Exmouth Town Councillor Mark Williamson; 16/0872/MFUL; Personal Interest; East Devon District Councillor Cllr Mark Williamson; 16/0835/FUL; Personal Interest; Exmouth Town Councillor Cllr Helen Parr; 16/0872/MFUL; Personal Interest; East Devon District Councillor Cllr David Key; 16/0872/MFUL; Personal Interest; East Devon District Councillor Cllr Steve Gazzard; 16/0835/FUL; Personal Interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

In accordance with the code of good practice for Councillors and Officers dealing with planning matters as set out in the Constitution Committee Members declared that they had been lobbied on application 16/0872/MFUL.

*29 Appeal statistics

The Committee received and noted the report presented by the Development Manager setting out appeals recently lodged and outlining the four decisions notified – three had been dismissed and one had been allowed.

The Development Manager drew Members' attention to the appeal allowed for prior approval of an agricultural barn into a dwelling at Hogsbrook Farm in Woodbury Salterton. The Inspector had not agreed with the Council that there would be harmful effect on future occupants of the building due to the barn's location on the farm and concluded that the majority of the farming activity occurred further away to the north of the site and therefore the main sources of smell, noise and disturbance would be located a sufficient distance away to mitigate any harmful effect.

*30 Applications for Planning Permission and matters for determination RESOLVED:

that the applications before the Committee be determined as set out in Schedule 7 -2016/2017.

Attendance list

Present:

<u>Committee Members</u> Councillors: David Key (Chairman) Mike Howe (Vice Chairman) (PM session only)

Brian Bailey David Barratt Susie Bond Colin Brown Peter Burrows Paul Carter Matt Coppell Steve Gazzard (PM session only) Simon Grundy Ben Ingham Helen Parr Chris Pepper (AM session only) Mark Williamson

Officers

Richard Cohen, Deputy Chief Executive (AM session only) Ed Freeman, Service Lead – Strategic Planning and Development Management (AM session only) Henry Gordon Lennon, Strategic Lead – Governance and Licensing (AM session only) Karen Jenkins, Strategic Lead – Organisational Development and Transformation (AM session only) Steve Pratten, Relocation Manager (AM session only) Chris Rose, Development Manager Shirley Shaw, Planning Barrister Alison Stoneham, Communications and Public Affairs Manager (AM session only) Julia Waddington, Project and Facilities Manager (AM session only) Hannah Whitfield, Democratic Services Officer

Also present for all or part of the meeting Councillors: Megan Armstrong Jenny Brown John Dyson Cathy Gardner Roger Giles Steve Hall Geoff Jung Bill Nash Phil Twiss

Apologies:

<u>Committee Members</u> Councillor Alan Dent

Non-committee Members Councillors: Matt Booth Andrew Moulding Ian Thomas

Chairman Date.....