EAST DEVON DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of a Meeting of the Development Management Committee held at Knowle, Sidmouth on 1 November 2016

Attendance list at end of document

The meeting started at 10am and ended at 4.08pm (the Committee adjourned for lunch at 12.50pm and reconvened at 2pm).

*23 Minutes

The minutes of the Development Management Committee meeting held on 4 October 2016 were confirmed and signed as a true record.

*24 Declarations of interest

Cllr Steve Gazzard; 16/1022/MOUT and 16/1978/MFUL; Personal Interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Brian Bailey; 16/1022/MOUT and 16/1978/MFUL; Personal Interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Mark Williamson; 16/1022/MOUT and 16/1978/MFUL; Personal Interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr David Barratt; 16/0867/MFUL; Personal Interest; Sidmouth Town Councillor Cllr Alan Dent; 16/0839/FUL; Personal Interest; Budleigh Salterton Town Councillor and applicant known to the Councillor

All Committee Members present declared a personal interest in application 16/1219/MFUL as East Devon District Council was the applicant.

Cllr Colin Brown advised that he was biased in respect of application 16/0867/MFUL and would therefore not speak or vote on the application.

*25 Appeal statistics

The Committee received and noted the report presented by the Service Lead – Strategic Planning and Development Management setting out appeals recently lodged and outlining the nine appeal decisions notified – seven had been dismissed and two had been allowed.

The Development Manager drew Members' attention to the two appeals allowed at 1 - 5 and 7 - 9 Hogsbrook Units in Woodbury Salterton. The Inspector had overruled the sustainability reasons for refusal, concluding that the proposal could be considered a small-scale economic development that was likely to support local businesses and the local economy generally, including the provision of jobs. The current level of occupancy indicated that there was a demand for the units and there was no substantive evidence to suggest that this had, or would, materially lessen the demand for space elsewhere in the District, including those allocated in the Local Plan.

Members noted that the the Planning Inspectorate was still dealing with a backlog of appeals and therefore there were delays with the determination of appeals.

*26 Applications for Planning Permission and matters for determination RESOLVED:

that the applications before the Committee be determined as set out in Schedule 6 -2016/2017.

Attendance list

Present:

<u>Committee Members</u> Councillors: David Key (Chairman) Mike Howe (Vice Chairman)

Brian Bailey David Barratt Susie Bond Colin Brown Peter Burrows (did not participate or vote on application 16/1022/MOUT as did not attend site visit) Paul Carter (left the meeting after consideration of application 16/1022/MOUT) Alan Dent Steve Gazzard Simon Grundy Ben Ingham Helen Parr Mark Williamson

Officers

Richard Cohen, Deputy Chief Executive (PM only) Ed Freeman, Service Lead – Strategic Planning and Development Management (AM only) John Golding, Strategic Lead – Housing and Environment Steve Pratten, Relocation Manager (PM only) Chris Rose, Development Manager Shirley Shaw, Planning Barrister Julia Waddington, Project and Facilities Manager Hannah Whitfield, Democratic Services Officer

Also present for all or part of the meeting Councillors: Megan Armstrong Jenny Brown Jill Elson Steve Hall Geoff Jung Bruce de Saram Andrew Moulding Bill Nash Pauline Stott Phil Twiss

Apologies: Committee Members Councillors: Matt Coppell Chris Pepper

Chairman	 Date
Chairman	 Date