# EAST DEVON DISTRICT COUNCIL

# Minutes of a Meeting of the Development Management Committee held at Knowle, Sidmouth on 4 October 2016

# Attendance list at end of document

The meeting started at 10am and ended at 4.30pm (the Committee adjourned for lunch at 12.30pm and reconvened at 2pm and adjourned at 2.25pm and reconvened at 2.30pm).

In the absence of the Chairman, Cllr Mike Howe, chaired the meeting. The Committee agreed to the appointment of Cllr Alan Dent to the position of Vice-Chairman for the meeting.

### \*19 Minutes

The minutes of the Development Management Committee meeting held on 6 September 2016 were confirmed and signed as a true record.

# \*20 Declarations of interest

Cllr Matt Coppell; 16/0218OUT and 16/1688/FUL; Personal Interest;Newton Poppleford and Harpford Parish Councillor

Cllr Paul Carter; 16/1265/MFUL; Personal Interest; Applicant was known to the Councillor Cllr Paul Carter; 16/0622/OUT; Personal Interest; Ottery St Mary Town Councillor Cllr Brian Bailey; 16/1022/MOUT; Personal Interest; Exmouth Town Councillor Cllr Mark Williamson; 16/1022/MOUT; Personal Interest; Exmouth Town Councillor Cllr Mike Howe; 16/1701/FUL; Personal Interest; Applicant was known to the Councillor Cllr Peter Burrows; 16/1506/OUT; Personal Interest; Acquaintance of the applicant

In accordance with the Council's constitution, the Vice-Chairman took over Chairmanship of the meeting during consideration of application 16/1265/MFUL (Land off Blackmore Road, Hill Barton Business Park, Clyst St Mary) as the application was in the Chairman's Ward.

# \*21 Appeal statistics

The Committee received and noted the report presented by the Service Lead – Strategic Planning and Development Management setting out appeals recently lodged and outlining the five appeal decisions notified. Members noted that despite the three appeals allowed and one split decision the Council maintained a good performance in respect of appeal decisions for the year to date.

# \*22 Applications for Planning Permission and matters for determination RESOLVED:

that the applications before the Committee be determined as set out in Schedule 5 -2016/2017.

Attendance list Present: <u>Committee Members</u> Councillors: Mike Howe (Chairman for the meeting ) Alan Dent (Vice Chairman for the meeting)

Brian Bailey David Barratt Colin Brown Peter Burrows Paul Carter Matt Coppell Simon Grundy Ben Ingham Helen Parr Mark Williamson

### **Officers**

James Brown, Principal Planning Officer (Central Team) (AM only) Jessica Crellen, Planning Officer (AM only) Ed Freeman, Service Lead – Strategic Planning and Development Management (AM only) Darren Roberts, Principal Planning Officer (Western Team) (AM only) Shirley Shaw, Planning Barrister Gavin Spiller, Principal Planning Officer (Eastern Team) (PM only) Hannah Whitfield, Democratic Services Officer

### Also present for all or part of the meeting

Councillors: Megan Armstrong Iain Chubb Geoff Jung Andrew Moulding Geoff Pook Val Ranger

#### Apologies:

<u>Committee Members</u> Councillors: Susie Bond David Key Steve Gazzard Chris Pepper

Non-committee Members Councillor Peter Bowden

Chairman		Date
----------	--	------