EAST DEVON DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of a Meeting of the Development Management Committee held at Knowle, Sidmouth on 6 September 2016

Attendance list at end of document

The meeting started at 10am and ended at 3.10pm (the Committee adjourned at 11.55pm and reconvened at 2pm)

*15 Minutes

The minutes of the Development Management Committee meeting held on 2 August 2016 were confirmed and signed as a true record.

*16 Declarations of interest

Cllr Ben Ingham; 15/2466/FUL; Applicant was known to the Councillor Cllr Mark Williamson; 16/1585/FUL; Pecuniary Interest; Applicant

Cllr Mark Williamson; 16/1340/VAR & 16/1585/FUL; Personal Interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Paul Carter; 15/2466/FUL; Personal interest; Has a family connection to the applicant Cllr Mike Howe; 15/2466/FUL; Personal Interest; Applicant was known to the Councillor through the Councillor's (business supplies newspapers to the site)

Cllr Colin Brown; 16/1085/FUL; Personal Interest; Chairman of Monkton Parish Council

In accordance with the Council's constitution, the Vice-Chairman took over Chairmanship of the meeting during consideration of application 16/1085/FUL (Land to south east of Fairhaven, Monkton) as the application was in the Chairman's Ward.

*17 Appeal statistics

The Committee received and noted the Development Manager's report setting out appeals recently lodged and thirteen appeal decisions notified, which twelve had been dismissed and one had been a split decision.

The Development Manager drew Members' attention to the appeal dismissed for a proposed dwelling on land to the rear of Chestnut House, Bunts Lane, Seaton. The Committee had visited the site and refused the application on highway safety grounds, which was upheld by the Inspector.

*18 Applications for Planning Permission and matters for determination RESOLVED:

that the applications before the Committee be determined as set out in Schedule 4 – 2016/2017.

Attendance list

Present:

Committee Members

Councillors:

David Key (Chairman)

Mike Howe (Vice Chairman)

Brian Bailey David Barratt Susie Bond Colin Brown

(left the room during consideration of application 16/1085/FUL)

Peter Burrows

Paul Carter (left the room during consideration of application 15/2466/FUL)

Simon Grundy Ben Ingham Helen Parr

Mark Williamson (left the room during consideration of application 16/1585/FUL)

Officers

Chris Rose, Development Manager Shirley Shaw, Planning Barrister Hannah Whitfield, Democratic Services Officer

Also present for all or part of the meeting

Councillors:

Megan Armstrong

Jill Elson

Geoff Jung

Rob Longhurst

Philip Skinner

Pauline Stott

Apologies:

Committee Members

Councillors: Matt Coppell Alan Dent Steve Gazzard

Chris Pepper

Non-committee Members

Councillors Steve Hall Andrew Moulding

Chairman Date	
---------------	--