EAST DEVON DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of a Meeting of the Development Management Committee held at Knowle, Sidmouth on 2 August 2016

Attendance list at end of document

The meeting started at 10am and ended at 4.48pm (the Committee adjourned at 1.05pm and reconvened at 2pm)

*11 Minutes

The minutes of the Development Management Committee meeting held on 5 July 2016 were confirmed and signed as a true record, subject to the inclusion of Cllr Peter Burrows' declared interest:

Cllr Peter Burrows; 16/0435/MFUL; Personal Interest (remained in the Chamber during the debate and vote); Seaton Town Councillor

*12 Declarations of interest

Cllr Paul Carter; 16/0205/FUL & 16/0206/LBC, 16/0239/OUT; Personal Interest; Ottery St Mary Town Councillor

Cllr Paul Carter; 15/2522/FUL, 16/0239/OUT; Personal Interest; Applicant's were known to his family

Cllr Mike Howe; 15/1473/VAR, 15/1512/FUL; Personal; Bishops Clyst Parish Councillor

Cllr David Barratt; 16/0268/FUL; Personal; Sidmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Peter Burrows; 16/0435/MFUL, 16/0997/MFUL; Personal Interest; Seaton Town Councillor

Cllr Steve Gazzard; 16/0787/MOUT, 15/2202/COU, 16/0969/FUL; Personal Interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Brian Bailey; 16/0787/MOUT, 15/2202/COU, 16/0969/FUL; Personal Interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Mark Williamson; 16/0787/MOUT, 15/2202/COU, 16/0969/FUL; Personal Interest; Exmouth Town Councillor

Cllr Mike Howe advised that he was predetermined in respect of applications 15/1473/VAR and 15/1512/FUL and would therefore withdraw from the Committee and speak only as Ward Member whilst those applications were considered.

*13 Appeal statistics

The Committee received and noted the Development Manager's report setting out appeals recently lodged and five appeal decisions notified, four of which had been dismissed and one had been allowed.

The Development Manager drew Members' attention to the appeal allowed for alterations to of an existing bungalow to form four new dwellings at Foye River Front, Exton. The Inspector acknowledged the limited local facilities in the village and the site being located outside of the Built-up Area Boundary. However, on balance, he considered the site to be well located in relation to the railway station and considered it to be sustainable.

*14 Applications for Planning Permission and matters for determination RESOLVED:

that the applications before the Committee be determined as set out in Schedule 3 – 2016/2017.

Attendance list

Present:

Committee Members

Councillors:

David Key (Chairman)

Mike Howe (Vice Chairman)

Brian Bailey

David Barratt

Susie Bond

Colin Brown

Peter Burrows

Paul Carter (present for applications considered in the morning only. Apologies given for afternoon session)

Matt Coppell (did not vote on applications 16/0205/FUL & 16/0206/LBC as did not attend the site visit)

Alan Dent

Steve Gazzard

Simon Grundy

Ben Ingham (did not vote on applications 16/0205/FUL & 16/0206/LBC as did not attend

the site visit)

Helen Parr (did not vote on applications 16/0205/FUL & 16/0206/LBC as did not attend

the site visit)

Alan Dent

Chris Pepper (present for applications considered in the afternoon only. Apologies given for the morning session)

Mark Williamson

Officers

Amanda Coombes, Democratic Services Officer (PM only)

Graeme Thompson, Planning Policy Officer (PM only)

Chris Rose, Development Manager

Shirley Shaw, Planning Barrister

Hannah Whitfield, Democratic Services Officer (AM only)

Also present for all or part of the meeting

Councillors:
Peter Faithfull
Jim Knight
Andrew Moulding
Phil Twiss

Ola a :a a .a	Data
Chairman	 Date