EAST DEVON DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of a Meeting of the Development Management Committee held at Knowle, Sidmouth on 5 July 2016

Attendance list at end of document

The meeting started at 10am and ended at 4.05pm (the Committee adjourned at 12.09pm and reconvened at 2pm)

*7 Minutes

The minutes of the Extra Ordinary Development Management Committee meeting held on 31 May 2016 and Development Management Committee meeting held on 7 June 2016 were confirmed and signed as true records.

*8 Declarations of interest

Cllr Steve Gazzard; 16/0874/RES; Personal Interest (remained in the Chamber during the debate and vote); Member of Exmouth Town Council, Ward Member, lives in same road.

Cllr Brian Bailey; 16/0874/RES; Personal Interest (remained in the Chamber during the debate and vote); Ward Member

Cllr Mark Williamson; 16/0874/RES; Personal Interest (remained in the Chamber during the debate and vote); Member of Exmouth Town Council

Cllr David Barratt; 16/0634/FUL; Personal Interest (remained in the Chamber during the debate and vote); Member of Sidmouth Town Council, Ward Member

Cllr Paul Carter; 16/0781/FUL, 15/0266/FUL, 16/0205/FUL & 16/0206/LBC, 16/0554/FUL & 16/0721/VAR; Personal interest; Known to family, Ward Member, Ottery St Mary Town Councillor

Cllr Alan Dent; 16/0074/FUL; Ward Member, Member of Budleigh Salterton Town Council

Cllr Mike Howe; 16/0781/FUL; Ward Member, known to family

Cllr David Key; 16/1032/FUL; Ward Member

Cllr Chris Pepper; 16/0693/MRES; Ward Member

In accordance with the Council's constitution, the Vice-Chairman took over Chairmanship of the meeting during consideration of application 16/1032/FUL (Colehill Farm, Luppitt) as the application was in the Chairman's Ward.

*9 Appeal statistics

The Committee received and noted the Development Manager's report setting out appeals recently lodged and five appeal decisions notified, all of which had been dismissed.

The Development Manager drew Members' attention that the Planning Inspector upheld the decision to refuse the Douglas Avenue Scheme in Exmouth.

*10 Applications for Planning Permission and matters for determination RESOLVED:

that the applications before the Committee be determined as set out in Schedule 2 – 2016/2017.

Attendance list

Present:

Committee Members

Councillors:

David Key (Chairman)

Mike Howe (Vice Chairman). Cllr Howe was not present for the afternoon session.

Brian Bailey (did not vote on application 16/0074/FUL as did not attend site visit)

David Barratt

Susie Bond (did not vote on application 16/0074/FUL as did not attend site visit)

Colin Brown

Peter Burrows

Paul Carter

Alan Dent (Vice Chairman for the afternoon session)

Steve Gazzard

Simon Grundy

Ben Ingham (did not vote on application 16/0074/FUL as did not attend site visit) Chris Pepper (did not vote on application 16/0074/FUL as did not attend site visit. Not present for applications 16/0201/FUL, 16/0554/FUL & 16/0721/VAR, 16/0435/MFUL and therefore did not speak or vote on the item)

Mark Williamson

Officers

Chris Rose, Development Manager Andy Carmichael, Major Projects Team Leader Richard Cohen, Deputy Chief Executive Shirley Shaw, Planning Barrister Amanda Coombes, Democratic Services Officer

Also present for all or part of the meeting

Councillors:

Tom Wright

Geoff Jung

Roger Giles

Peter Faithfull

Jim Knight

Apologies:

Committee members:

Councillors

Matt Coppell

Non-committee members:

Councillors

Andrew Moulding

Chairman	D '	
/ hairman	Date	