EAST DEVON DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of the Extra Ordinary Meeting of the Council held at Knowle, Sidmouth, on Wednesday, 25 July 2018

Attendance list at the end of document.

The meeting started at 5.30 pm and ended at 5.46pm

In the absence of the Chairman, Councillor David Key acted as Chairman for the meeting and Members confirmed their agreement that Councillor John O'Leary would act as Vice Chairman.

*19 Honorary Aldermen

The Council was asked to consider conferring the title of Honorary Alderman on a former Councillor, Pat Graham, for her eminent service to East Devon District Council. The Chairman made individual reference to the service she had rendered to the Council and her valued contribution to the Council and community.

Councillor Steve Gazzard proposed that the title of 'Honorary Alderwoman' be conferred to Pat Graham. He recounted how she had mentored him when he first became an elected Member. He outlined two key issues that she had championed – that of developing a policy for dealing with travellers, and the original Exmouth Master Plan. He praised her for her representation of the District Council through that difficult period. He also gave his thanks to her husband, Keith, in "lending" her to the Council. He wished them both well for the future.

Councillor Eileen Wragg seconded the proposal and spoke of Pat's unfailing support to the town of Exmouth and its people. She described her as a stalwart of the town, epitomising the phrase of "strong and stable". Despite Pat' own personal circumstances, she was described as continuing to serve her local community with commitment, dedication and sincerity.

Councillors Pauline Stott and Philip Skinner also spoke about her approach to the work as a Councillor and wisher her well.

The Chairman put the proposals to the vote.

RESOLVED: that the title of 'Honorary Alderman' be conferred on Pat Graham in recognition of her eminent service to East Devon District Council as a past Member.

(The resolution was required to be passed by not less than two-thirds of the Members of the Council voting thereon.)

The Chairman invited the nominee to come forward to receive the Honorary Alderman medallion, trophy and certificate from the Vice Chairman. The new Honorary Alderwomen spoke on her appointment and thanked the Council for granting this honour.

She thanked those that had continued to turn out to vote for her, but felt that she had made the right decision to step down from the role of councillor at the end of 2017. She outlined what she missed about the role, but made assurances that

she would not become a complainant – she felt it was key to focus on the positives that the Council delivered. She felt optimistic for the town of Exmouth as it continued to change and redevelop.

She made reference to the support of her husband Keith, describing him as her tower of strength. The two fo them looked forward to enjoying more time together to take holidays, and spend time with family and friends. She would continue to take an interest in Exmouth, but she made clear to the Council that this would not involve her being out on the Exmouth streets in the early hours of the morning.

She wished Councillors well and offered advice to them in asking questions to find out what they do not know, and to listen to the answer. She also gave an account of her recent attendance at a garden party at Buckingham Palace. She concluded her acceptance speech with thanks to the Council, adding that she felt humble and proud to now be an Alderwoman.

She received a standing ovation for your acceptance speech.

Attendance list Councillors present

Megan Armstrong

Brian Bailey

David Barratt

Dean Barrow

Susie Bond

Matthew Booth

Colin Brown

Peter Burrows

Paul Carter

Maddy Chapman

Iain Chubb

Alan Dent

Paul Diviani

Bruce de Saram

Tim Dumper

Jill Elson

Mark Evans-Martin

Peter Faithfull

Steve Gazzard

Graham Godbeer

Simon Grundy

Marcus Hartnell

Douglas Hull

Geoff Jung

Jim Knight

Rob Longhurst

Bill Nash

Dawn Manley

Cherry Nicholas

John O'Leary

Helen Parr

Christopher Pepper

Geoff Pook

Philip Skinner
Pauline Stott
Brenda Taylor
Mark Williamson
Eileen Wragg
Tom Wright

Honorary Aldermen:

Christine Drew Graham Liverton Ann Liverton Steve Wragg

Also attending:

Pat Graham Keith Graham

Officers:

Mark Williams, Chief Executive Richard Cohen, Deputy Chief Executive Henry Gordon Lennox, Strategic Lead – Governance and Licensing Debbie Meakin, Democratic Services Officer

Councillor apologies:

Ian Thomas
Ian Hall
Andrew Moulding
Brian Bailey
Steve Hall
Roger Giles
Stuart Hughes
Phil Twiss
Mike Howe
Eleanor Rylance

Honorary Aldermen apologies:

Frances Newth David Atkins Stephanie Jones John Jefferies

Chairman	 Date