Agenda for an Extra Ordinary meeting of Council Wednesday, 29 July 2015; 6.00pm

To: All elected Members of the Council; Honorary Aldermen

Venue: Council Chamber, Knowle, Sidmouth, EX10 8HL View directions

Contact:

Diana Vernon, 01395 517541 Hannah Whitfield 01395 517542 (or group number 01395 517546); Issued 20 July 2015

Dear Sir/Madam



East Devon District Council Knowle Sidmouth Devon EX10 8HL

DX 48705 Sidmouth

Tel: 01395 516551 Fax: 01395 517507

www.eastdevon.gov.uk

Extra Ordinary meeting of the Council of the District of East Devon on Wednesday 29 July 2015 at 6.00 pm

You are called upon to attend the above meeting to be held in the Council Chamber, Knowle, Sidmouth. It is proposed that the matters set out on the agenda below will be considered at the meeting and resolution or resolutions passed as the Council considers expedient.

Yours faithfully

Chief Executive

Note: This meeting is being audio recorded by EDDC for subsequent publication on the Council's website.

Under the Openness of Local Government Bodies Regulations 2014, any members of the public are now allowed to take photographs, film and audio record the proceedings and report on all public meetings (including on social media). No prior notification is needed but it would be helpful if you could let the democratic services team know you plan to film or record so that any necessary arrangements can be made to provide reasonable facilities for you to report on meetings. This permission does not extend to private meetings or parts of meetings which are not open to the public. You should take all recording and photography equipment with you if a public meeting moves into a session which is not open to the public.

If you are recording the meeting, you are asked to act in a reasonable manner and not disrupt the conduct of meetings for example by using intrusive lighting, flash photography or asking people to repeat statements for the benefit of the recording. You may not make an oral commentary during the meeting. The Chairman has the power to control public recording and/or reporting so it does not disrupt the meeting.

Agenda:

1 Apologies

2 Honorary Aldermen

To consider conferring the title of Honorary Alderman on the following in recognition of their eminent services to East Devon District Council as past Members of the Council.

Geoff Chamberlain (35 years) 1980-2015

Positions of responsibility – Chairman of Exmouth Town Committee (1995/96), Vice Chairman of the Council (2005/07), Member of Executive Board (2008-2011)

Trevor Cope (20 years) 1995-2015

Positions of responsibility – Leader of the Liberal Democrats and later Leader of the Independent Group, Vice Chairman of Overview and Scrutiny – Economy Committee (2009-10), Chairman of Local Agenda 21 Sub Committee (1996-2001) and Member Champion – Plain English (2011-2013)

David Cox (12 years) 2003-2015

Positions of responsibility – Chairman of Housing Review Board (2006/07), Board member of Leisure East Devon (2006 –2012), Streetscene Portfolio Holder (2007-2011), Finance Portfolio Holder (2011-2015), Vice Chairman Employment Appeals (2011-2015).

Christine Drew (13 years) 2002-2015

Positions of responsibility – Member Champion for Young People (2010-2015), Vice Chairman of the Council (2013-2015), Vice Chairman (2003-2005) then Chairman (2005-2009) Licensing and Enforcement, Council appointee to Devon County Council – Health Overview/Scrutiny Committee (2003-2011), East Devon Volunteer Support Agency – Trustee Board (2009-2011) and East Devon Highways and Traffic Orders Committee (2007-2011).

Peter Halse (21 years) 1982-1991, 2003-2015

Positions of responsibility – Chairman of Housing Tenancy Allocations (1988-1990), Economy Portfolio Holder 2007-2010, Vice Chairman of Employment Appeals (2007-2010), Chairman of the Council 2011-2013.

John Jeffery (16 years) 1999-2015

Positions of responsibility – Council representative on - Salisbury Lineside Consortium of Authorities (2002-2006), Business Advisory Council (1999-2003), East Devon Police Liaison Group (2000-2008), Exeter Area Rail Project Working Party (2002-2010). Also recognition of his strong and effective ward work.

Stephanie Jones (8 years) 2007-2015

Positions of responsibility – Member Champion – Seaton (2008-2015), Deputy Portfolio Holder for Sustainable Homes and Communities (2011-2015), Council representative on East Devon Transport, Research and Information Project (2011-2015).

Frances Newth (10 years) 2005-2015

Positions of responsibility – Member Champion for Sustainability (Eco Issues) 2007-2011, Vice Chairman of the Council (2011-2013), Vice Chairman of Licensing and Enforcement Committee (2006-2008), Vice Chairman of Overview and Scrutiny Service Delivery and Performance Committee (2009-2011).

Ken Potter (8 years) 2007-2015

Positions of responsibility – Member Champion for Post Offices (2007-2015) – the remit for this was extended to include Rural Communities in 2011, Chairman of Audit and Governance Committee (2009-2015), Council representative on the LGA Rural Commission (2011-2015).

Tim Wood (8 years) 2007-2015

Positions of responsibility – Exmouth Town Member Champion (2011-2013), Vice Chairman of Audit and Governance (2007-2011), Chairman of Overview and Scrutiny (2013-2015), Board Member – Leisure East Devon 2012-2015), Chairman of East & Mid Devon Crime and Disorder Scrutiny Panel (2013-2015), Chairman Exmouth Local Nature Reserve Management Committee (2010-2012)

Steve Wragg (16 years) 1999-2015

Positions of responsibility – Vice Chairman of Overview and Scrutiny Committee – Economy (2009-2011) and involved in the scrutiny of the Joint Integration arrangements with South Somerset. Also in recognition of his effective and reasoned contribution to planning committee debate over the years.

Note: a resolution to confirm the title must be passed by not less than two-thirds of the Members of Council voting thereon.

Decision making and equalities

For a copy of this agenda in large print, please contact the Democratic Services Team on 01395 517546